Some Things Never Change

Things I Never Learned in Sunday SchoolRecently, in response to a nice compliment from someone who read my book (Things I Never Learned in Sunday School), I commented that although it was a bit “long in the tooth” (published in 2012), I felt the information I shared still had merit.

Later, as I thought about these words, I realized how much truth there was in them because, in actuality, not one part of my book needs changing. Why do I say this? Because there is not one part of the Christian story that has changed. It’s still the same-old, same-old tale related to “redemption from sin” through one man’s death on a cross — as well as all the other “stuff” (hell, satan, anti-christ, last days, etc.) that accompanies this venerable event.

In other words, the contents of my book mirror the familiar saying that’s found in the Christian bible:  “the same yesterday, today, and forever.”

(Although the language of the Bible has occasionally been “modernized” over the years … or explained when it tended to be controversial … the narrative within its pages has remained stagnant.)

What boggles the mind is that in a world where changes are taking place in mere seconds … often faster than we can keep up with … Christian believers continue to cling to a story that was written over two thousand years ago and which, for all intents and purposes, has no connection to modern existence.

Beyond this, they continue to peddle this ancient tale to anyone who will listen (or read) – and often exhibit indignation (and even anger!) when others point out the improbabilities of its credibility.

Of course all this is fine and dandy with me because as long as the human race remains susceptible to myths, legends, and fairy tales … the contents of my book will continue to remain relevant.

And that warms my heart. ❤