In Recognition of the Thanksgiving Holiday

bethanksful
So many of us simply go through life and never think about all the things we have to be thankful for. Instead, we fill our minds — and our conversations — with all the things we don’t like. (e.g., tRump’s election)

Even through the darkest of times, there is always something to be thankful for: your family, your friends, your home, your health, your pets, having food on the table … even your comfortable bed.

If nothing else, be grateful you’re alive!

Being grateful sets in motion an ancient spiritual law: the more you have and are grateful for, the more will be given to you.

So on this Thanksgiving Day of 2016, take a moment and say “Thank You.” It need not be directed to anyone or anything. Just by expressing the words and allowing thoughts of gratitude to enter your mind, you will be triggering a more positive mood and a greater sense of being connected with the world around you.

And by the way, I’m thankful for every person reading this. You are special people and I’m very glad to have “met” you in cyberspace.

Enjoy your holiday!

14 thoughts on “In Recognition of the Thanksgiving Holiday

  1. Thank you, dear Nan — you too!

    And here’s a different look at this holiday, one that should not spoil it, but enrich it perhaps by its truthfulness: http://www.rawstory.com/2016/11/the-beginning-of-genocide-historian-debunks-myth-of-thanksgiving-honoring-native-americans/

    I’ma gonna start feeling grateful a bit more as soon as my headache goes away. But, overall, it has been a year where this sentiment is hard to muster, for many reasons. Which likely means one should try even harder. As soon as the headache goes away…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Re: the article — personally, I’ve never felt Thanksgiving Day was about honoring Native Americans. Perhaps I missed that part in school? To my way of thinking, it’s simply a day to reflect and be thankful … for all the meaningful things in one’s life.

      Sorry about the headache. But look at the bright side. It’s eventually going to go away. Always helps to be thankful. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Yes, I know this is very well-known and hugely popular among many many cultures and freethinking groups, but I thought it was appropriate for here and this blog-post Nan. 🙂

    There are no nations [no races, no relligions either]! There is only humanity. And if we don’t come to understand that right soon, there will be no nations, because there will be no humanity. — Isaac Asimov

    insertion & emphasis mine

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “Being grateful sets in motion an ancient spiritual law: the more you have and are grateful for, the more will be given to you.” So, as a rich American, if I am just grateful for all of the cool stuff I have, I will get even more? Hardly seems fair to the poor.

    I subscribe to a habit. I carry, not always but often, a small rock in my pocket. It is a gratitude rock. When I reach into my pocket and touch it, it reminds me to be grateful. Being grateful is its own reward. There is a sense of calmness and peace when I realize that I am very, very lucky to have the life I have. I am not grateful for my life as a gift, but circumstances could have been otherwise. I could have been an undesirable living in western Russia when the Nazis invaded, for example. We don’t get to choose our parents or country of birth. There is a lot of luck involved in being able to have a “good life.” And for those things I am grateful.

    Liked by 6 people

  4. I agree with SOM yet again and the video from PT also paints the picture of reality and puts into perspective all the ridiculousness and pointless rubbish that humans dream up that are completely and utterly insignificant beyond our little speck in the universe.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. My particular Thanksgiving thing is to tell everyone to try and find something to be thankful for. We used to do a round table thing where everyone gave a reason but that relaxed a bit to just being thankful, and that’s fine by me.

    Of course setting aside one day for thankfulness is somewhat silly when we have 364 other opportunities every year. 🙂 The thing is, it’s easy to let lifes peculiarities get you all caught up in the drama or the crazy, and you let those things dictate the pace of your life. Every day there is something to be thankful for, you just need to be looking for it.

    I love Steve’s rock, that is awesome. A great way to remind one of something it behooves us all to be reminded of.

    Now someone help me remember to be thankful, we have family coming over tomorrow and a few of them do not make me think of thankful things. I am in fact putting a new coat of shellac on my idiot stick. Let us all hope it won’t be needed. The potential for a “moment” is high enough one of my boys went out of town to visit someone else. I wish I could have gone with him… but nooo, I have to man up and get through it. It consoles me a bit knowing this happens to a lot of people around the holidays. A tradition of doing shit we’d rather not because, family.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. For religious people it is easy, thank God they have a God or a Totem to be grateful to. :-).
    I am not used to a Thanksgving Day. I don’t know if other countries also celebrate it, but evidently it is a universal pleasant feeling. I used to ask myself “grateful” to whom, until I learned the right question: grateful for what?
    I could mention many reasons, and today I want to thank you for suggesting another one: it triggers a greater sense of being connected with the world around me. Right you are Nan, have a great Day!

    Liked by 1 person

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

