Promises, Promises

say-what-you-mean

I don’t particularly care for using my blog as simply a “resource center,” but sometimes I come across articles that I feel need to be shared. I could, perhaps, share them on Facebook except that I have friends and relatives that are adamantly opposed to my political views (and I to theirs), and I prefer not to “stir the pot.”

So, having explained my motives, here is another article that I think deserves a read. It’s from the New Yorker.

One of the more pertinent statements made at the beginning of the article:

“Trump campaigned as an outsider who would overthrow a hopelessly corrupt Washington establishment. Now we learn that many members of that very establishment will play key roles in a Trump Administration.”

IMO, one of the scariest appointments is Stephen Bannon, who has been identified as being a supporter of white nationalism, white supremacism, anti-feminism, homophobia, as well as several other similar ideologies. But Bannon isn’t the only one that leaves a really bad taste in my mouth. I think you’ll see what I mean when you read the article.

DONALD TRUMP’S GREAT BAIT AND SWITCH

A somewhat unrelated point of information in the article is the mention that Trump may dispense with the “antiquated notion” that the President should spend nearly all his time living at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue. If he has his way, our illustrious leader would spend his weekends at Trump Towers, or one of his golf courses, or his Mar-a-Lago estate in Palm Beach. As the article notes, the question then becomes … what happens if, during one of these weekends while Trump is away, the Russians march into Ukraine, or the Chinese occupy a disputed island in the South China Sea?

Yes indeedy. Our new President-Elect is most definitely a horse of a different color (or perhaps better described as a certain part of the horse’s anatomy).

24 thoughts on “Promises, Promises

  1. Here’s what I think is going to happen, Nan. His voters have already told him they’re going to hold him to his promises. If we think opposition protest are vocal now, wait until his own voters see the “tax break” breakdown. They are going to go wild. In two years, Sanders democrats will take over both houses of Congress, and in four years, (if not before, through impeachment) he’ll be kicked out the presidency so fast he won’t remember he was in it.

    By giving Bannon the position as top advisor, he has unfortunately shown his true colors.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my! I DO like your prediction about Sanders and Congress! 😀

      As for tRump’s voters suddenly opening their eyes and holding him to his promises? I’d like to think so, but I’m not going to hold my breath. IMO, a large portion of them don’t even know what his promises were! All they heard was how he was going to “Make American Great Again!”

      Liked by 1 person

  2. “…one of the scariest appointments is Stephen Bannon” That’s a horrifying appointment. Nothing remotely anti-establishment about tRump and his cronies. Same old Republican, conservative bs as usual. This is going to be very, very bad for America. We’re screwed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Was reading Elizabeth Warrens blog earlier. She seems like such a good candidate.

    Likely Trump won’t change much. The swamp won’t be drained. Just be populated with his trained wildlife that behaves the same way as the old ones.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. “what happens if, during one of these weekends while Trump is away, the Russians march into Ukraine, or the Chinese occupy a disputed island in the South China Sea?”

    As if this nightmare couldn’t get any worse, have you seen this? All I can say is omfg.

    http://www.newsweek.com/donald-trump-vladimir-putin-russia-hillary-clinton-united-states-europe-516895

    “Once the documents are obtained by hackers and then distributed, a large group of propagandists around the world begin promoting them on social media—in comments sections of websites and other locations online—hoping to generate negative news stories that undermine Democratic officials, particularly Clinton.

    The Kremlin’s campaign is motivated not so much to support Trump as it is to hurt the Democratic nominee.”

    [snip]

    “While American intelligence officers have privately briefed Trump about Russia’s attempts to influence the U.S. election, he has publicly dismissed that information as unreliable,…]

    [snip]

    “Officials from two European countries tell Newsweek that Trump’s comments about Russia’s hacking have alarmed several NATO partners because it suggests he either does not believe the information he receives in intelligence briefings, does not pay attention to it, does not understand it or is misleading the American public for unknown reasons.”

    But it gets much, much darker. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hello Nan. I am worried for our country, and afraid personally for my husband and my own rights. I have seen something in my country I thought was a very small minority if not already erased. The bigotry, the hate, the anti gay, the “white backlash”, stunned me. Then I read today that those protesters against the election, of them the majority did not even vote. Bad timing to complain about the milk being spoiled when you couldn’t be bothered to put it back in the refrigerator. I can see this is going to be the most corrupt, incompetent administration. It will be fractured and will commit frauds and crimes. Sadly before they are stopped they will have changed life in the USA for generations to come. My fear is the education of the youth, the supreme court, the rights and privileges most of us hold dear, the violence that could be unleashed, our standing in the world, how much he will concede to Russia, and lastly what he may do to both the military and to the criminal prison for profit situation in our land. I have to admit I was both stunned and afraid at the fact our country did not take brains over emotion. But the damage is done. Now to rebuild out of the ashes. I may not know why all of this happened, but I can show studies that say that the protest vote cost the democrats the election. Every one who decided for whatever reason that even though Trump represented something against their own interest and then voted for a third party or refused to vote, those people hurt themselves and all of us. I recently asked one such which party would have support more of his interest and he admitted the democrats, but was not willing to vote for the democrat running because it was not Bernie who was the one he wanted. Some people cut off their nose to spite their face and now today in the cold light of what we face, they are upset. Hope they have some comfort, as I have very little. Be well. Hugs

    Liked by 3 people

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

