Racism is Alive and Well

Steve speaks the truth

Class Warfare Blog

The Nation ran an article (Why Alton Sterling and Philando Castile Are Dead by Kai Wright) which had the subtitle “We have too much law enforcement, too deeply enmeshed in our lives, and that fact is making us less, not more safe.” Unfortunately the article misses the mark. No matter how many or few police there are, we have many, many, many examples of police officers treating white people gently, even when they are walking down the street naked or drunk with a shotgun, and Black people being treated as if they were psychopaths. (The latest case was one in which a Black man told a police officer, before he reached for his wallet to show his driver’s license, that he had a gun that was permitted, the cop drew on him and shot him dead).

The reason for this difference is simple: the cops have been programmed to consider…

View original post 550 more words

11 thoughts on “Racism is Alive and Well

  1. I live in the Minneapolis-St. Paul area, and I was heartbroken to hear the news this morning. We already had the Jamar Clark killing here not even a year ago, which our community has not recovered from; the local D.A. announced in March that no charges would be filed against the officers involved, and there is still a ton of frustration that no one is going to be held accountable, again.

    And now we have this one, in which Philando Castile (from what I can see) was trying to do the right thing, and comply with the officer’s instructions to retrieve his ID, as well as letting him know he had a gun, and he was shot for it. I heard a bit of the video on the radio, and I know it’s too early to draw definite conclusions, but I hear panic and stress in that officer’s voice. He sounded, to me, the exact opposite of what you want in a police officer, someone who can stay cool and keep a situation under control and make good judgments. This was a stop for a broken taillight FFS. Surely there was another way to react to being informed about the gun than to immediately put four bullets into his chest.

    The Governor spoke more strongly than he has in previous incidents. He mused aloud whether a white person would have died under similar circumstances, and said he didn’t think so. He noted that this is a systemic problem. He said “this kind of behavior is unacceptable” and he said “Justice will be served in Minnesota.”

    Sad to say, I have little remaining hope that will be the case. Officers may lose their jobs and their reputations, but no one ever seems to be held accountable. Look at how the cases are going in Baltimore! Six cops put Freddie Gray in that van unsecured, in the practice known as a “rough ride,” which had been done before in that department. And the judge so far has declared them all not guilty, because there isn’t enough evidence to show they intended to kill him. Six cops, and nobody’s going to be held accountable.

    I just don’t know what it’s going to take to address the system. Because it’s the system that’s broken and needs fixing.

    Liked by 2 people

    • P.S. We had some windows broken by vandals at work sometime last night. The police in my suburb that responded when I called were cordial, efficient, and helpful… and in fact, all my dealings with my suburb’s cops over the yeads have been good. I am not anti-cop. I am generally respectful of authority, and greatly appreciate the work my suburb’s police do to keep me and my community safe.

      But see, I’m white. That’s the problem: Black people don’t have that same level of trust, and I don’t blame them one bit. This is systemic racism, and it needs to end.

      Liked by 1 person

    • President Obama (on Facebook): “[W]hat’s clear is that these fatal shootings are not isolated incidents. They are symptomatic of the broader challenges within our criminal justice system, the racial disparities that appear across the system year after year, and the resulting lack of trust that exists between law enforcement and too many of the communities they serve.

      To admit we’ve got a serious problem in no way contradicts our respect and appreciation for the vast majority of police officers who put their lives on the line to protect us every single day. It is to say that, as a nation, we can and must do better to institute the best practices that reduce the appearance or reality of racial bias in law enforcement.”

      I’m going to miss this man.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I so agree with everything you wrote, Brent. But your last sentence in your last comment hit the nail on the head. No matter that so many dislike him (and we know a major reason why this is so), I personally think he’s served as our president with integrity, dignity, and resolve. I dread thinking about who will replace him (on either side).

        On a side but related note to your comments, I just read something that Jon Stewart said that fits perfectly:

        You can truly grieve for every officer who’s been lost in the line of duty in this country, and still be troubled by cases of police overreach. These two ideas are not mutually exclusive.
        You can have great regard for law enforcement and still want them to be held to high standards.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Jon Stewart… a man I already miss. 🙂

          Great quote. And President Obama said essentially the same thing, amplifying his Facebook post at a press conference later in the day. This doesn’t have to be either-or.

          Liked by 1 person

      • As an Australian I struggle to understand why President Obama is hated by so many Americans and also considered a failure by many.

        In any objective reasoning Obama is streets ahead of his predecessor. I don’t understand how some blame Obama for the mess in the Middle East, clearly that is Bush’s legacy.

        The problem Obama has faced is that the Tea Party has poisoned Congress who refuse to cooperate to pass sensible legislation.

        I get sick of hearing from Christian groups that Obama is really a Muslim. By making such statements these people are proving themselves to be totally ignorant.

        If the Republicans had their way the bail out package for the car industry would not have happened and likely GM would have collapsed. But people forget that, and it was not really a bailout as an emergency rescue, my understanding is that the Government made money on the deal.

        Liked by 2 people

        • I struggle to understand why President Obama is hated by so many Americans

          One big reason … He’s black. Even though genetically he’s only half-black, all the (many, many) racists in this county can see is black skin and that’s all they need to condemn him and everything he stands for.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Peter everything you said is so true. I would add one thing. I know that President Obama has an education that is top of the line, he has been in charge of some of the most intellectually challenging things. This man mind is reved up and running strips around most of us. Yet the people that make fun of him, hate him, they are so uneducated they can not even speak in a way to be understood…… they think they are better and smarter than him. I just don’t get it. I can’t see why giving credit where due is a bad thing and I can’t understand denying everything he has done, has accomplished just because he has darker skin than others, or that one of his parents were black. Yes his father was black, but we did not elect his father. We elected a very smart man with a great family , wonderful wife and kids, and someone respected all over the world. I choose to respect him also. He has earned it. Hugs

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Nan. I thank you greatly for posting this. I read it several times and then gretfully added it to my blog via reblog. I put my feelings there in a longer point than here. Here I will only say I have to feel those who are most racist have to be those most afraid of the fact that they are less than others. SO they have to find someone that no matter what MUST be less than they ever could be. The only thing that such a mentality can cling to is the most visible. Color. OR ethnicity. If you look different than me and my friends, you MUST be less so we can be MORE attitude. Oh I hope we soon out grow this grade school recess ideas. I cry for each life we lost, I cry for the heartache of each family and I cry for the loss for the country I love. Sad hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

