The Not-So-Subtle Message: Believe and Be Saved!

free_from_religionA recent post by Zoe related to the closing show of American Idol prompted me to write this post. It’s something I’ve been thinking about lately in relation to the bill that was passed in Mississippi … and directly corresponds to what Zoe had to say.

The following was in our local paper (I didn’t note the origin):

It shows why we need this bill, so people can not only believe, but act in accordance of their beliefs and not violate their conscience.

Have I missed something? Is there something in the Constitution that says you can’t “believe?” And why is a “law” needed to allow people to “act in accordance with their beliefs?” And whose “conscience” are we talking about?

I’m really getting sick and tired of the religious trying to tell people how to live their lives. So I don’t believe in their fairy tales anymore. Do I try to force my non-belief on them? No. Do I initiate laws/bills that “order” them to stop proselytizing? No.

I may offer input on blogs that counter Christian beliefs, but I’m not coercing anyone to leave her/his faith. It’s just conversation and I’m simply presenting my reasons for not following the path of the believer. Sometimes I offer evidence to (hopefully) help them to see that what they have been taught is false, but in the end, the conversation usually ends up in a draw. They don’t convert me; I don’t convert them.

The way I look at it is if someone wants to believe in an invisible entity, read their Holy Book everyday, go to church on Sunday and listen to their pastor/priest/minister present myths and legends, that’s their prerogative. But DON’T try to force me to do the same!

The American Idol example that Zoe presented demonstrates how sneaky religious adherents are. A closing song of “Amazing Grace?” Sheesh.

I know all about the commands that the “saved” are to bring in the “unsaved.” But why must it be slipped into TV programs, movies, and other media that one expects to be secular? Besides, one-on-one conversations are far more effective if a believer truly wants to win over someone they feel is “lost.”

Some have said things are changing … that there are more “nones” in religious polls … that atheists are becoming more outspoken … that organizations (e.g., FFRF) are stirring the pot. This may all be true, but I tend to feel this is only because we, as non-believers, latch onto any news that indicates our tribe is growing. In reality, I think we have a looooong ways to go.

18 thoughts on “The Not-So-Subtle Message: Believe and Be Saved!

  1. We do have a long way to go. I, too, don’t care what people choose to believe or that they practice their belief together on Sundays in a church. I, like you, REALLY dislike having religious folk trying, and often succeeding, in cramming their hocus pocus nonsense up my arse. I also think it is criminal that churches and religious groups are tax exempt. Talk about a widely biased privilege. The bill just signed in Mississippi is an affront to liberty and freedom. Unfortunately, I don’t think we’ll be free of religion in our lifetime. It’s like a bad smell that you just can’t get out of your car. Eventually, it may go away. But it most likely won’t while you still own the car.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. As John Davidson said in the video I posted on Zoe’s blog — “he began to realize that it pays to be religious in America — you can be more successful — you can make money that way.”

    I have a hunch that governor Bryant, and the house and senate received financial kickbacks by filthy rich religious organizations like the American Family Associate, based in Mississippi. I’ve no doubt they counted the potential costs, and it was more profitable (for them personally) to pass this bigoted bill.

    http://www.afa.net/who-is-afa/press-releases/2016/04-april/american-family-association-applauds-gov-phil-bryant-and-mississippi-lawmakers-for-passing-freedom-of-conscience-bill-1/

    Liked by 3 people

    • It’s not that different really in any country. Unless you are part of some obscure sect of a particular religion, the clergy live pretty well, and the more dishonest they are, the better they live. Their are plenty of “yogi masters” in India that are ridiculously wealthy and are known con artists. The more hope people are looking for the more they are willing to invest some money into it. Thus it seems hard to believe that there won’t be trying to exploit. And so my hope is that at least some day people won’t try to make me buy their favorite product and push it on their children.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Imagine unlimited freedom to practice whatever your faith dictates you do, in the context of a ‘faith’ that practices infanticide as human sacrifice. Or perhaps ritual murder of those who apostasize. Believe what you will, practice of your faith, where it deals with others, is not and should not be unlimited.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Just to clarify Nan, it was only a few lyrics of the song Amazing Grace and they were tacked on to her already loaded “blood of Jesus” “washed in the water” song. The perfect prelude to a few stanzas of Amazing Grace.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, after re-reading your post, I noticed this. But hey … close enough. 😉 Besides, I think my readers knew what I was driving at.

      In any case, thanks for the clarification. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Just came across this post (the blogger is listed in the sidebar under “Check These Out”) and thought it pertinent to what I wrote in my post. (I admit the reason I like it might have something to do with the fact I like wine.) 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. In agreement with other commentors here, yes we do have a long way to go. We MUST keep fighting for general humanity’s freedoms though! I’m not sure Nan if you somehow caught my May 2015 blog-post about Americans and American legislatures FAILING to protect every single Americans’ freedoms/liberties equally, and how very erroneous any and ALL ultra-Conservative (Fundy or otherwise!) U.S. or state legislatures or citizens think the U.S.A. was founded as a Xian nation is simply bad history and wrong! Period.

    Your post and then the constant babbling by “Xian” politicians and their supporters now during Campaign 2016 — and all since the Tea Party Movement — remind me of just how profound this quote is truly being made alarmingly more true! …

    “My definition of a free society is a society where it is safe to be unpopular.”
    Adlai Stevenson

    I fear Nan there are days ahead when people like us non-Xians will have times where we are forced to do more than be politely (passively?) and respectfully underspoken through our vote. :/

    Liked by 2 people

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

