Afterlife: True or False?

Courtesy of Stockvault.com
Courtesy of Stockvault.net

Did you watch the first episode of “The Story of God” with Morgan Freeman? For those who missed it, it was an exploration of what happens after we die.

Is there an afterlife? And if so, what is it like?

Morgan visited several countries and talked with priests, lamas, rabbis, swamis, and scientists. Each one offered their perspective about the afterlife — some of which I had never heard before.

I was especially intrigued when Morgan interviewed a man who talked about his Near Death Experience. I have to admit, it was a little disconcerting to hear how closely it matched Scottie’s experience.

According to a article promoting the program: In future episodes, [Freeman] will explore commonalities in creation myths and apocalyptic visions, what purpose is served by the concept of the devil, why we believe in miracles, and how the perception of God has changed over the centuries.

I can hardly wait!

41 thoughts on “Afterlife: True or False?

  1. I’m hoping there’s good music, great weather, and I am expecting to see most of my friends. . . 🙂
    I have a friend who says, “I’ll finally be able to get a good sleep!”

    (In other words, you can imagine whatever you want, eh?)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh and kcchief – someone mentioned to me that I was so dumb I couldn’t even spell my name with a capital letter. . (this would have been in response to something I said on another blog, in discourse with a ‘believer’. .I know, I know, it’s surprising they’d be that unflattering). .but I see I’m not the only one, hmm? 😉

    Like

  3. Nan,

    I watched every second of the show; couldn’t WAIT for it to air. But National Geographic’s Magazine also compliments the show and the one prior to it… Explorer. The magazine has some INCREDIBLE stories, studies, and scientific results that utterly REDEFINE our ‘traditional’ thoughts about death and the Afterlife. In other words, “death” is becoming a much more understood transitional phenomena than anything to fear! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Decode Hindu Mythology blog by Vineet Aggarwal is a nicely illustrated blog about the ancient Indian perspective on samsara, creation story, manu/shatarupa story, lokas etc. 🙂

    Like

  5. Nan given the sheer number of near death experiences there are bound to be similarities between some individual cases. However Near Death is not the same as actual death so some caution is required in reading too much into them.

    After my mother died I read a few books from people who had Near Death experiences and I found that whilst there were some similarities there were also differences. In the same manner I personally know three people who had near death experiences and once again there were some similarities but also some differences.

    What we do know is that there are chemicals in the brain that come into play when the body is failing that could give rise a relaxed state that could explain an experience like Scotties.

    In the overwhelming number of near death experiences the person cites a positive experience and is sort of sorry they have come back. There are a couple of cases where people have cited a very negative experience but those are a very small minority.

    It is hard to reach a conclusion when there is a lack of consistency to the data.

    I wonder whether some experiences (I am not saying all) are more a vivid dream.

    There is an interesting article here on scientific research of these experiences:
    http://www.theeuropean-magazine.com/peter-fenwick–2/6094-the-science-of-death

    I will close with a relevant quote from the article:

    But the most important thing is that they all lose their fear of death. They are no longer afraid.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Haven’t seen the show yet, but I loved Morgan Freeman’s “Through The Worm Hole”, and I’m sure I’ll like this. I think we have a HUGE experience after we die. We get eaten by worms. Now, there’s something most of us don’t experience very often whilst we live. Can’t say I’m looking forward to it, but it’ll certainly be different.

    Like

  7. This is a bit off-topic (SURPRISE!), but I think it’s important, and I don’t see any other of Nan’s post where it might be a good fit.

    Ark and I are unlike a lot of the rest of you – he spent basically zero time involved with organized religion, and I, very little, but many of the rest of you, Nan, (ain’tnoshrinking) Violet, Neuro, Zoe, Neil Carter, Matt Barsotti, Nate Owens, Peter, and many others were heavily invested in it. Most have expressed extreme relief once removed from that environment.

    I ran across something that is 2500 years old, that originally was not written in reference to religion, but rather to reality, but I want to share it with you because having read what most of you have had to say about your deconversion experiences, it just seemed that this is very apropos.

    It comes to us from Plato’s “Republic,” written about 500 BCE. This is from his Allegory of the Cave, found in Book VII of that work:

    There is a cave in which a number of people are chained together on the floor in such a way as to be unable to see anything except that which lies in front of their eyes. These prisoners have always lived this way and so do not realize that they are in a cave or that there are other things in the world to be seen.

    Some distance behind them, unknown to them, is a low half-wall and beyond that, a large fire. Between the half-wall and the fire are people carrying puppets in the shapes of plants and animals and humans. The light from the fire casts the shadows of these objects onto the wall of the cave that is before the prisoner’s eyes. The prisoners themselves can see only the shadows, and when they hear the voices of those who carry the puppets echoing off the wall before them, they naturally assume that it is the images themselves who are speaking. These shadows are the only phenomena that they experience and they take them to be real – in fact, to be reality in its fullness. For them, those shadows ARE plants, animals, and humans.

    What would happen, Plato asks (through his literary character, Socrates), if one of those chained persons were set free from his bondage and stood up to look around? He would no doubt be blinded by the bright light; in his terror, he might sit down and beg to be chained again. But if this person’s eyes grew accustomed to the light, so that he could see that the images on the wall were actually shadows of puppets, he would soon realize how fully his senses had been deceived. What he had taken to be reality were in fact only shadows.

    Suppose this person then decided to proceed to leave the cave and enter the light of the sun. A similar sequence of events would no doubt occur. First he would be blinded by the light (in comparison to which the fire in the cave could itself be thought of as only a shadow). Only after his eyes adjusted would he come to see that not even the puppets had been the real thing, but only imperfect representations of real-life plants, animals, and people.

    No one who came to this kind of realization would choose to return to the cave to spend the rest of his days watching shadows cast on the wall. Once one has experienced reality, there is no turning back.

    [dedicated to Zoe – may her nightmares end]

    Liked by 1 person

    • Arch, I’ m going to post a General Thoughts page just for you! That way you can add any topic you want. This should work for you until you get your own blog set up. This is meant as a GOOD thing so don’t get offended.

      I’ll try to move this last comment but I’m not sure if it will work. We shall see.

      Like

      • I’m not offended, Nan, but I posted it deliberately where the most people would see it. I could easily post it on some obscure blog myself, where no one would see it. I don’t write to ‘get it out of my system,’ I write because I believe that what I say will help someone, which can’t happen if it isn’t read.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I could easily have posted it on Nate’s blog, and he wouldn’t have blinked an eye, but at least half a dozen of the people I wanted to reach, are never or rarely seen on Nate’s blog. and would never have read it.

    Like

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

