Satan and the Insane

Yesterday evening while visiting this blog post by John Zande, I left a short comment in response to a gentleman known as “Leroy.”

As it turned out, my few words resulted in a rather lengthy discussion between Leroy and myself, and before I knew it, the hour had grown late and I was having difficulty focusing on the issue at hand. I decided to postpone further discussion until today.

As the topic of John’s post had invited considerable discussion, his blog page was becoming more and more difficult to load. Thus, I decided to transfer the pertinent comments between Leroy and myself to my own blog

Posted below is what had ensued up to the point I had to leave. Hopefully Leroy will visit and we can finish our discussion (if that’s even possible considering the subject). I have omitted some remarks in the interest of space, but tried to reference those that pertained to our discussion.

LEROY (in answer to John):  I already answered you. YES. In the context taken. Abraham was tested. Isaac lives and Lindsay hears Satan and is a murder. Abraham is God’s chosen and his dissidents multiplied. Satan speaks in Gods name, we are warned in the Bible of his wiles, the insane hear Satan and kill their children and you put forth propaganda , Satan’s ally. Again with your twisted tales.

ME: Not only do the insane hear Satan, but they believe in him too.

LEROY: Mental illness is very real Nan and I feel for their suffering. Shit happens and nothing is guaranteed perfect these days. If a mentally ill person says God told me then the only explanation is Satan since God has never commanded someone kill their child. John likes to twist Scripture, but it is a fact Abraham did not kill his child.

“Be on your guard and stay awake. Your enemy, the devil, is like a roaring lion, sneaking around to find someone to attack.” 1 Peter 5:8 (CEV)

ME: Obviously you missed the point of my comment. Read it again.

LEROY: Yea Nan, I don’t know really if anyone hearing Satan actually acknowledges they are, like you imply. I don’t “think they believe in him too” either. Mental illness sucks. Mothers drowning their kids suck. Anyone killing their kids sucks.

I would add Nan, that a lot of hurt souls like to swap words. They exchange the word sacrifice for kill. They use the mentally ill to support their false interpretations. It’s sad really, the lost and forsaken, forever to wander, forever to fight and struggle with the Wall.

ME: Once again Leroy. It appears YOU believe Satan exists. Now go back and read my comment again.

LEROY: Finally my slow self gets it Nan. You imply “only the insane hear Satan, and believe in him too”. ME.

Yet you are wrong. Yes. I believe in Satan and his wiles, but I am far from insane.

ME: Do you agree that the insane see things, hear things, sometimes talk to things that are not there? If so, consider this. Satan does not exist. He is a creation of the apocalytic writers during the intertestamental period. The early Jews did not believe in the “satan” that “exists” in the Christian world today. He came “into being” after the Exile and is nothing but a figment of imagination.

Thus, if you believe in Satan, what does that say about you?

LEROY: Come on Nan, Satan does not exist, really. So God does not exist and the whole of the Bible is fable. If that is what you believe then say so, so we have starting point. It’s all a fable in your mind, right?

What you claim, specifically, is false. It is a lie you read somewhere.

Even though Satan is first mentioned by name in Job, previous historical accounts record his actions (see Genesis 3, when Satan influenced the serpent, and Genesis 4 where Cain belonged to him (1 John 3:12).

You are a bit more crafty than John, not quoting Scripture, but lies show themselves out, eventually.

In the New Testament, other names reveal more about Satan’s current nature. Devil (diabolos) means “false accuser, Satan, slanderer” in Greek and is the word from which the English word diabolical is formed. Satan is called a dragon in Revelation 12:9 and 20:2, as well as the “evil one” in several places. Revelation 12:9 calls him “that ancient serpent” or “serpent of old,” and Matthew 4:3 calls him the “tempter.” Other names for Satan include Abaddon (destruction), Apollyon (destroyer, Revelation 9:11), Beelzebub or Beelzebul (Matthew 12:27) and Belial (2 Corinthians 6:15). Satan is also referred to as the god of this world/age (2 Corinthians 4:4), prince of this world (John 12:31), and father of lies (John 8:44).

ME: I would LOVE to respond, Leroy, but my brain is tired. I will say this and may say more tomorrow so stay tuned. I’m not speaking “from the hip” as I spent considerable time doing research on the birth and existence of Satan (along with several other subjects) so I know what I’m talking about. You are speaking from the Christian POV, which is incorrect but is etched into the minds of Christians by hundreds of years of indoctrination. More tomorrow (if John will allow me the space). Toodles.

I invite Leroy and any interested readers to go here where I will elaborate on the research (the “more tomorrow”) I did related to the existence of Satan.

17 thoughts on “Satan and the Insane

    • What? Are you afraid someone might miss this? Noticed you posted it on both of my postings about the Big Bad Guy. 😉

      BTW, I’ll try to watch it at some point. As I’ve indicated before, I’m not much of a video person (unless it’s short … like no more than 3 min), but I’ll try to make an exception with this one.

      Like

      • I did that because I don’t know which blog post you plan to use – I’ve never heard of anyone starting two blog posts on the same topic, at the same time – what were you thinking? That has to be confusing to everyone.

        Like

        • Sorry if you’re confused. I tried to explain what I was doing in this posting, but apparently you didn’t “get it” so here it is again.

          Late yesterday, I got involved in a conversation with Leroy about “Satan” on John’s blog. I cut if off because it was getting late and I was tired. Rather than continue the discussion today on John’s blog (which was already quite full), I decided to reproduce it here and open it to comments.

          If you notice in my last comment to Leroy *(above), I wrote “more tomorrow.” The posting on the reality of “Satan” is the “more tomorrow” that I wanted to share with him. Obviously, it was way too much to put on John’s blog.

          Got it? Good.

          Like

  1. I’m sorry you have a short attention span. Try telling your life story in 3 minutes, and let me know how that goes. If you did, how much would anyone really know about your, as you must have to leave out extremely significant parts, in order to be able to condense it to that time limitation?

    Like

      • Well, Nan, think about what you said – you try to limit videos to three minutes! How could ANYone POSSIBLY present anything to Leroy that he could conceivably believe, in three minutes. That’s just not realistic, and you should know it. How much comprehension do you think anyone could draw from your book, if they could only read it in 3-minute increments? Personally, I thought your remark to me was a bit snide as well – “I’ll try to make an exception with this one.

        If you’d like me to stop commenting here, I can certainly do that, but I won’t be treated like something you’d really rather scrape off the bottom of your shoe.

        Like

        • No … no! Arch, you are totally misunderstanding! I have absolutely nothing against you posting the video. My point was that I PERSONALLY find it difficult to watch long videos (I even made this comment on my post about John Oliver’s video … “I’m more of a reader than a watcher”).

          The exception I was making is that I (me) would make an attempt to watch THIS video even though it’s a long one.

          Are we on the same page now?

          Liked by 1 person

        • I thought you were telling me not to post videos on your blog that are longer than three minutes, and what kind of information could you possibly hope to get across with that?

          I misunderstood, apparently.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Nan, I popped over to JZ’s site and read the extended interaction between Leroy and the heathen masses. It seems to me it all comes down to one point, did ‘God’ command Abraham to kill Isaac. Leroy says no and others say yes.

    If Leroy won’t accept this point that Abraham thought he was commanded to kill his son then one wonders exactly what Abraham thought he had been told to do. The Biblical story makes no sense unless Abraham thought the command was real.

    In the book Of Hebrews it argues that Abraham reasoned that ‘God’ could raise Isaac from the dead, but it still clearly indicates that Abraham thought he was commanded to kill his son and he was prepared to go through with it.

    There is really no other way to interpret it. The lame apologetic attempts of a folk like Leroy just go to show that these folk don’t actually accept their own Holy Book as they are in essence trying to change the story.

    There is absolutely no basis to claim it was a command from ‘Satan’. Once again to make such a claim Leroy is actually refuting his own Holy Book as it never say or even remotely implies that.

    What we see is that Leroy has created a version of ‘God’ in his own mind and seeks to explain away parts of the Bible that don’t accord with that internal creation. If Leroy but realised it, he is providing evidence of the falsity of his religion.

    Liked by 4 people

  3. I thought you were telling me not to post videos on your blog that are longer than three minutes, and what kind of information could you possibly hope to get across with that?

    I misunderstood, apparently.

    Apparently? Sheeesh!
    Before long, Nan will have to have a special section just for you – with a table and crayons an’ plastic alphabets and beakers with lids …. and stuff.

    Daft old fossil.

    😉

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Reading Leroy’s latest comments over at JZ, makes me wonder if there are some serious mental health issues at play in his case.

    It is almost as though he sort of plays at being a nice Christian but when the dam bursts, well!

    Liked by 1 person

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

