The Ideal 2016 Presidential Candidate

campaign_2016From: vanderbiltpoliticalreview.com

In an article on Salon.com related to the declared and potential 2016 presidential candidates, the writer (Jeffrey Tayler) bemoans the fact that so many fall into the category of (supposedly) “God-fearing” individuals who believe the answers to many of our ills can be found in the “Good Book.”

He adds … “There will almost certainly be no (declared) atheist or even agnostic among the candidates.”

He then provides some information about those who have already begun their crusade for U.S. leadership, as well as those who are still waiting in the wings.

I have to admit … it’s downright scary.

He ends his article with an “atheist dream” … that perhaps, someday, a candidate (and future president) will make this statement:

“I do not believe in God. I do not believe in a hereafter. I believe we have one life on our precious planet, which floats amid a cosmic void of unfathomable dimensions governed by the unyielding laws of physics. I will follow reason and promote consensus-based policies that will do the greatest amount of good for the greatest number of people. I will work to build up Jefferson’s wall of separation between church and state. Secularism and reason offer us the only way out of our dilemmas. We have to grow up and realize that, barring interference from forces of nature beyond our control, everything we humans achieve, or fail to achieve, depends on us. There is no hope, save in ourselves.”

And to that I say … MAY IT BE SO!

25 thoughts on “The Ideal 2016 Presidential Candidate

        • I’m not a US citizen, but cannot agree more with that statement Nan, as it is meant to be universal. Your last but one sentence: … Secularism and reason offer us the only way out of our dilemmas. We have to grow up…

          reminded me of the advice Richard Dawkins gave to a foolish question from the audience: Grow up! I didn´t find it with google, but I like what I stumbled upon in Dawkins’ book “Unweaving the rainbow” (one day, I’m going to allow myself the time to read it!). === “Not to grow up properly is to retain our ‘caterpillar’ quality from childhood (where it is a virtue) into adulthood (where it becomes a vice). In childhood our credulity serves us well. It helps us to pack, with extraordinary rapidity, our skulls full of the wisdom of our parents and our ancestors. But if we don’t grow out of it in the fullness of time, our caterpillar nature makes us a sitting target for astrologers, mediums, gurus, evangelists and quacks. ===

          Liked by 1 person

        • Federico, I deleted the last part of your comment. It looked like you may have been trying to link to something, but all that was showing was a bunch of jibber-jabber. 😉 Maybe try again?

          Like

        • There was no link, Nan. I’m suspecting aliens interfered with my browser and/or internet modem, as on a trip I was planning today on googlemaps, I got stuck halfway .Hopefully, a restart of the computer will help, here goes the mail again: I’m not a US citizen, but cannot agree more with that statement Nan, as it is meant to be universal. Your last but one sentence: … Secularism and reason offer us the only way out of our dilemmas. We have to grow up…

          reminded me of the advice Richard Dawkins gave to a foolish question from the audience: Grow up! I didn´t find it with google, but I like what I stumbled upon in Dawkins’ book “Unweaving the rainbow” (one day, I’m going to allow myself the time to read it!). === “Not to grow up properly is to retain our ‘caterpillar’ quality from childhood (where it is a virtue) into adulthood (where it becomes a vice). In childhood our credulity serves us well. It helps us to pack, with extraordinary rapidity, our skulls full of the wisdom of our parents and our ancestors. But if we don’t grow out of it in the fullness of time, our caterpillar nature makes us a sitting target for astrologers, mediums, gurus, evangelists and quacks. === Federico

          WordPress.com

          |

          Human Relationships commented: “Anytime!:)” | |

          Liked by 1 person

  1. This reminds me of the CBS Sunday Morning article that Neil reposted on “Godless In Dixie.” There is no way an atheist can run for public office in the U.S. It’s kind of weird seeing people promise devotion to something that doesn’t exist and get rewarded for it. Not only that, those people are more preferable for public office than people who think they’re beholden to everyone in the here and now.

    Still, the item you quoted is very uplifting. And I hope one day that we can have someone get into the White House that is more afraid of their fellow citizens suffering than of some post-death lake of fire.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can agree with that manifesto any day. With that in mind I hereby announce my running for the office of President. I’ll be running on the “cut the bullshit” platform.

    Like

  3. Woo! I’m up to eight votes, if only 10 people vote, I’m a shoe in. I need to get to work on my acceptance speech!.

    IBD1, hell why wait? Excuses to get drunk are as plentiful as stars in the sky my friend. Even so, it’s been a while since I’ve tied one on.

    Liked by 1 person

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

