Stepping Out of the Mire

In a recent post, Siriusbizinus wrote:

Not everyone can make that step. Leaving faith behind is a long process of unpacking emotions, thoughts, feelings, and other trauma associated with indoctrination and forcing oneself to believe the unbelievable.

I would add … but it’s well worth the effort!

I became a believer in my early 20’s. I had little to no “indoctrination” up to that time as my parents were not religious (father was lapsed Catholic, mother was indifferent). So when “the event” happened, I jumped in full-force.

And, during “those” days, I believed. I mean, I TRULY BELIEVED!!

I lived and breathed Jesus. I was totally convinced this was the ONLY way to live and anyone who couldn’t see that was, well, blind. There simply was no other way. And the “unsaved” surely needed to be told how to “get right” with God … or else!

Today, as I read some of the postings and comments made by believers on Christian blogs (e.g., holdingforthhisword, truthinpalmyra, etc.), it’s not surprising to see their fervor and dedication as they “preach the word” to their non-believing visitors.

It’s also not the least bit surprising that no matter how many facts are presented related to the inconsistencies and fallacies of their belief, they often belittle the writer because they feel that anyone outside the faith simply doesn’t have the “holy spirit” to open their eyes to “The Truth.”

And the thing is … I can totally see/feel where they’re coming from because I was there! Living in the (so-called) cocoon of safety that Christianity represents, you believe there is absolutely no better way to live your life — and anyone who thinks otherwise is a fool of the first degree.

That’s why siriusbizinus’ statement that “not everyone can take that step” (leave the faith) is right-on. There are those who will never leave. The indoctrination is so deep and so complete that to take such a step would be like leaping across the Grand Canyon.

Nonetheless, just as Christians have the driving need to evangelize the world with their stuff and nonsense, so the atheists/non-believers feel they must counter it with facts, reason, and rationality in hopes someone will take that step out of the mire.

19 thoughts on “Stepping Out of the Mire

    • In one word … fear.

      Briefly — my first husband and I often spent time with a couple in which the girl was an inactive Nazarene. Occasionally we got on the topic of religion. Nearly always, we’d end up discussing the horrible things awaiting the non-believers as described in the book of Revelation. It scared me enough that I eventually met with a Pentecostal preacher and the rest, as they say, is history.

      Like

        • Why would he? It scared him too … just not as much as me.

          It may be hard to understand, Ark, but when you’ve never really been exposed to “the gospel,” it’s very easy to be taken in. At that point, there’s no “right” or “wrong” about believing. Hope that makes sense.

          Liked by 1 person

        • I guess I just cannot relate that’s all. By the time I was married, even before, I would have simply laughed myself silly at such nonsense as the bible. And if my wife was being taken in by it I would have pulled her out of whatever situation had arisen and helped her understand.
          No disrespect, it must be different for some people.

          Like

  1. Thank you so much for this post! It’s a great one, and I wholeheartedly agree that stepping out is worth it!

    I feel sometimes that people in religion is like they’re in a cave. Although I’m outside squinting at the light, I want to yell back in there for people to come out and see the beautiful world they’re missing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. In a recent chat with acquaintances – the three or four of them firmly believing and practising Catholics- on this difficult matter of faith. They invited me – again – to join them and have a try, as I didn’t have the slightest notion of what I was missing by not believing in the beauty of the Resurrection – that is why they call it glorious.
    Should I have answered that I thought it was the other way round? Perhaps, but I didn’t. I left it at that. And now I remember that conversation with a smile, as they told me exactly what siriusbizinus would like to yell back to the people in the cave.-

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I find many Catholics – at least almost all the people in my environment to be happy persons. They enthusiastically and sincerely wish to share those feelings with us, unbelievers. So in a way, Nan, I don’t think they envy us; they, too, see a light. Their light. Their way.

    Like

  4. In as much as I have become a relentless critique of the bullshit of religion, I sympathise with anyone held in its clutches. I know it requires almost herculean strength to leave the faith and because the instructions starts just before they can discriminate ideas, it is the hardest to escape.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Noel, this is so very true. One of the main reasons is due to the fact it is very difficult to atrophy neural pathways and especially if they have collected to the point of networking (neural networks). Add to that a culture that is fear oriented — not only do churches promote fear, but so does our media and political system. People who have been indoctrinated with fear have larger amygdala (fear center) — (increased gray matter volume).That anyone breaks away from this just goes to show you how strong they are.

      Liked by 2 people

      • At least for me, I don’t think fear was a major component as lack of exposure was. I can only blame the society I lived in but once I was exposed to the idea, my mind couldn’t accept the old story

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Ditto to what you said about some people never leaving. I mentioned that in my most recent post, about how I doubt whether everyone can make that leap into atheism. I don’t think everyone is capable of facing reality. Many are; but some will never listen to nonbelievers.

    Liked by 1 person

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

