Heaven Is For Real?

As many of you probably know, the author of the book, The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven, has recanted his story and admitted it was all fictional.

Now the young man who wrote Heaven Is For Real is speaking up, but in contrast he is standing by his story. As he puts it on his blog: “I still remember my experience in Heaven.”

My question from the beginning has been — how do you come back from a place that doesn’t exist?

I admit I haven’t read either book, but it’s not too hard to figure out the content. I’ve read enough reports by those who have shared their “visions” after experiencing a NDE (Near Death Experience) to have a pretty good idea of what they think they saw.

What I find interesting is how “Christian” these stories are. The visions and accounts of what the person saw are right out of the bible. But what’s even more amazing is the number of NON-Christian people who are totally taken in by these stories!

I suppose it has something to do with what we want to believe.

Or more likely, there will never be a lack of gullible people.

16 thoughts on “Heaven Is For Real?

  1. Great points. Makes me think, why don’t we ever hear about Muslims who have NDE’s and claim to have seen 72 virgins waiting for them just before they were pulled back into life? I agree with you that it has to do with what we want to believe. Hopefully I’ll see a big yard with lots of cute puppies when I die, but I doubt it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Off topic, but I LOVE dogs, all animals really, but especially dogs. My dachshund, Roxy, who I had for 13 years died in October, and I was crushed. But, I adopted another dog named Kassy shortly after, and she is now the joy of my life. she’s a dachshund terrier mix and is SO loving. Anyway, if there’s a heaven, it better have puppies in it. 🙂

    Like

  3. Absolutely! In fact, the way I look at it, who needs heaven anyway when we’ve got puppies (and dogs)!

    I have a miniature Schnauzer who’s almost 6 years old. Unfortunately, last summer (June) she injured herself as she tried to jump onto the sofa in our motorhome, slipped and fell. The damage was to her spine and she was unable to stand or walk for several months. With lots of TLC, physical therapy (from me), and ACUPUNCTURE (totally believe in it!), she’s finally able to walk, albeit she’s “crippled.” The injury was primarily on her left side so she doesn’t have full control of her front or back legs. But she gets around! And her spirit is as bright and feisty as it ever was.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great! I’m so glad for her, and you. They’re such loving, happy great friends. Kassy is such a cuddler! She literally crawls up under my head as a pillow at night. When I roll over, she readjusts herself, and crawls back under my head so I can sleep right on her. What pals they are. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Right on Nan. Heaven, like religion, is a dream created by the human mind. Psychologically, people need a belief like that to hold on to so that they can endure their seemingly miserable lives.

    Like

    • Further, few Christians ever give a lot of thought as to what their heaven must be like. Not revolving before a neighborhood star, there would be no day or night – just unending day for eternity. And our reason for being there is not to resume our lives, but rather to praise god – the guy seems to need a lot of ego-building – so it’s a captive audience (Where you gonna go? There ain’t no ‘there’ there!), shouting praises all day, for a day that never ends. OK if I just stay dead?

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Funny how the NDE experiences in the East never seem to meet or talk with Jesus.

    ABSTRACT
    Near-death experiences (NDEs) in Thailand do not demonstrate the episodes most noted in those collected in the West, but they do show consistent features. I argue that these features, including harbingers of death, visions of hell, the Lord of the underworld, and the benefits of making donations to Buddhist monks and temples, can be understood within the framework of beliefs and customs unique to Southeast Asia.

    The simplest explanation is that the phenomenology of NDEs at least in part fulfills the individuals’ expectations of what they will experience at death. These expectations are most often derived from the experiencer’s culture, subculture, or mix of cultures. Culture-bound expectations are, in turn, most often derived from religion.

    http://www.researchgate.net/publication/229032451_Near-death_experiences_in_Thailand

    Liked by 2 people

  7. From a post on Facebook:

    Alex Malarkey, The Boy Who Came Back From Heaven, admits he made it all up. It’s too bad Abraham, Muhammad, Mary, Moses, and Joseph Smith never admitted they made it all up, as well, they could have saved millions of lives.

    Liked by 1 person

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

