“Please Pray for Me”

I guess I’m a curmudgeon, but there are few things I dislike more than postings on Facebook where people are soliciting prayer.

  • Please pray for me.
  • Please pray for a special need.
  • Please pray for my mother (husband, son, daughter, father, sister, brother, aunt, uncle, etc., etc.)
  • Please pray for _______.
  • Please pray that I win the lottery.

Well, maybe that last one is fictional but you get the idea.

Don’t get me wrong. I don’t begrudge anyone their faith in God and prayer, but I find it difficult to understand why such requests need to be broadcast on Facebook. Not only that, in many instances the requests are vague and undefined so even if you were a person of faith, you have no idea what you are praying for. Seems to me a better way would be to contact one’s believer “friends” directly through messaging so details can be provided on the exact need.

Often the prayer request posting is followed up by one in which God is praised for answering prayer. Again, I wonder why this must be a public announcement. (In cases where there is no follow-up posting, does it mean the prayer wasn’t answered?)

OK. Rant over.

2 thoughts on ““Please Pray for Me”

  1. Good god I feel your agony here. Nothing makes me more frustrated than those super reliable people who every day must post some godly encouragement post about how they need god to make it through the day. It’s beyond me how day after day, they suffer from this horrid life and ask god to help them, and day after day, they repeat.

    Hmmmmm.

    No introspective ability I’m afeared!

    Like

  2. It’s pretty sad, isn’t it, that some people need their god to make it through the trials of the day. Life happens, folks. Get over it and move on. And if you’re lucky, you’ll get to start again tomorrow.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

