God’s Help? I wonder …

An email friend recently sent the following note to his ‘group’:

I am blessed. Yesterday, I was driving home from some errands with about an hour of oxygen left, when my car died and would not restart. I immediately prayed to God to help me. It took just under an hour to get towed home. In that time, 6 vehicles carrying 11 people stopped to help. I wasn’t doing well in the heat and apparently looked like it: One lady insisted on waiting for the tow truck so I could sit in her a/c car. Thank you, Lord!

I knew this person was a Christian, but as I read what he wrote, I couldn’t help but wonder … was I to believe that (in answer to his prayer) the Big Man in the Sky looked down from his ‘heavenly throne,’ saw this one individual suffering, took time out from his busy schedule of running the universe, and stepped in to remedy the situation?

And then I wondered … what about the hundreds of thousands of other people who were, at that very same instant, in need of assistance? Was God helping them as well? Was God helping the U.S. soldier hit by an IED in Afghanistan and clinging to life? Or the child in Africa one breath away from dying of starvation? Or the family desperately trying to save their burning home?

Further wondering … what if the tow truck hadn’t arrived within the hour? What if no one had stopped to help? Would this mean God didn’t hear or was too busy to answer my friend’s call for help?

9/3/11 UPDATE: See this blog posting for additional thoughts on prayer.

4 thoughts on “God’s Help? I wonder …

  1. Let me preface this with, I really do not want to argue. I will simply state what I personally believe and we can agree to disagree cause that is what will ultimatly happen. Neither of us will pull the other to our side. My take on it is he did ask God for help and he recieved it. Meaning God answered his prayer immediatly and in the answer of “yes”. So your friend is asking you to believe with him that his God did take time out of his day to answer that prayer.

    You ask about soldiers and starving children and if God is not answering their prayer. I do not know the hearts (as in if they beleive in Christ) but if they are not asking then they would not necessarily recieve the help. That is my personal take on it though. I will not speak for God because I honestly do not know the answer. I am okay with not knowing the answer because I have also not always known the reason why my parents do not intervene when I think they should. God has always answered my prayer and the prayers of my family. He just says no sometimes.

    Like

  2. Traveling Wife, thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. And you are correct … to argue would not change our personal outlook on the matter, so we will do as you suggest — agree to disagree.

    Like

  3. How much time people lose in arguing about faith, or lack of it!”
    I love the conclusion “Agree to disagree”, an agreement on its own.

    My Catholic family, relatives, friends, neighbors pray to God and they invite everybody else to join them – typically when somebody is very ill. If the patient recovers, they say thank God; if he does not, it is God’s will.
    I find it nonsense to request the intervention of a superpower, but why should I criticize others for doing it? I just hope that the patient will overcome his illness; what happens afterwards is, of course, exactly the same in either case.

    @ Traveling Wife: …God just says no sometimes…” makes me think that God is not as merciful as Christians say. In any case, he is not merciful towards starving people in Africa, among other calamaties that, sad to say, form part of our lives.

    Greetings,

    Federico

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by again, Federico!

      Your comments about your family, relatives, friends, and neighbors asking you to join them in prayer reminded me of an article I recently came across about atheists and funerals. Since most people tend towards Christianity, they obviously want to offer sympathy from a Christian standpoint (“I’ll pray for you,” “S/he is in a better place,” etc.). It seems they simply cannot understand the concept of not believing in their God.

      In fact, there are even some Christians who are SUING (!) to impose Christian prayer at non-Christian funerals! See this article.

      As for God saying “No,” it’s just the Christian’s way of justifying the fact their “superpower” (your words) didn’t do as they asked. Like I said in the posting, if help hadn’t shown up for my friend, would that mean God was too busy, didn’t hear the prayer … or was he, as Traveling Wife claims God does sometimes … saying NO?!!? Hmmmm.

      Like

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

