The Existence of God – Or Not

I found the video below quite fascinating. While I am not an atheist, I am interested in the many and varied perspectives that people have of who and/or what god is.
Before viewing the video, I had never heard of Alvin Plantinga so I didn’t have any idea what to expect. Since then, I have done a little research and find he is described as a “philosopher/theologian.” Wikipedia states he is a Christian who applies “methods of analytic philosophy to defend orthodox Christian beliefs.”

When presented with questions about God’s existence, he certainly answers in the same tenor of every Christian I have ever heard.

I found many of his answers to be nothing more than a nonsensical jumble of words. Instead of taking a true stand on his beliefs and offering solid evidence, he meandered through the usual language of the Christian religious.

The other thing that stood out to me is the constant reference by both parties to “God” as gender-specific. To me, God is an intangible spirit and therefore has no gender but of course, the debate passionately rages on.

 

2 thoughts on “The Existence of God – Or Not

  1. Do you realize that many consider Plantinga one of the greatest philosophers of the generation? Anyway, this is a bad video if you are looking for a summation of theist retorts vs. atheist arguments. It is just one theist nicely cross-examining another theist. I would say this video is aimed at people who already agree with the speakers, not those who wish to learn more on the subject.

    I found many of his answers to be nothing more than a nonsensical jumble of words. Instead of taking a true stand on his beliefs and offering solid evidence, he meandered through the usual language of the Christian religious.

    Can you give me an example of a “nonsensical jumble of words” from Plantinga? Everything he said was concise while also being clear and easy to understand. In fact, he answered all of the questions in almost the same way: “Just because X does not mean there is not such a person as God…” or, “It doesn’t follow from X that there is no God.”

    Like

    • Thinking Emotions — thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment!

      To me, this video was nothing more than an intellectually sophisticated argument for the existence of the Christian God.

      Perhaps you’re right, based on the title I was expecting more …

      Like

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

