My Take on the 9 Tea Party Principles

While reading this morning’s newspaper, I came across a full-size ad
sponsored by the local Tea Party movement. It was in support of a person that is running for County Commissioner, but in the ad they also listed their “9 Principles.” Apparently, these are the same “Tea Party Principles” established by Glenn Beck of Fox News.

As I read the list, I could see the common sense behind some of them, but there were a few that made me shake my head in wonderment. I’ve listed the 9 principles below with my comments following.

  1. America is Good
  2. I believe in God and he is the Center of my Life.
  3. I must always try to be a more honest person than I was yesterday.
  4. The family is sacred. My spouse and I are the ultimate authority, not the government.
  5. If you break the law you pay the penalty. Justice is blind and no one is above it.
  6. I have a right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness, but there is no guarantee of equal results.
  7. I have worked hard for what I have and I will share it with who I want to. Government cannot force me to be charitable.
  8. It is not un-American for me to disagree with authority or to share my personal opinion.
  9. The government works for me. I do not answer to them, they answer to me.

My comments:

  1. I agree. It has its faults, but America and what it stands for is good.
  2. I agree … to a point. I believe in God, but I feel that when people say God is the “Center” of their life, they view God as an entity. In my belief system, God is the Ultimate Source and has no definable identity (and is not gender-specific). For me, God permeates my entire life.
  3. This is a provocative statement. I’m not sure how it would work in real life.
  4. While I feel the family is an integral part of every person’s life, I’m not sure I would define it as “sacred.” The second part of the statement is discriminatory — not everyone has a “spouse.” (And of course, I couldn’t help but wonder if ‘spouse’ includes someone in a same-sex marriage.)
  5. I agree.
  6. I most definitely agree with the first part. However, while there is no “guarantee” of the results, I do feel some people ignore the rights of others, which often ‘alters’ the results.
  7. I agree that we all work hard for what we have and certainly we have the right to share it as we see fit. Unfortunately, many do NOT share what they have and instead sit in their ivory towers and ignore the plight of those less fortunate. They continue to amass fortunes while others starve. We are all members of the human race. To turn a blind eye and a deaf ear to our ‘brothers and sisters’ is inexcusable. It may not be the Government’s place to step in, but until Greed loosens its hold on people, this seems to be the only solution.
  8. I agree. Of course, sharing one’s personal opinion does not necessarily mean attacking another person’s integrity, religious faith, reputation, or any other part of his/her character.
  9. I agree … to a point. It is true we elect individuals to represent us in the governing of this country. But essentially, the “government” is made up of “we the people.” It is not a corporation in which we are the ‘bosses’ and our elected representatives are the ’employees.’ When we take this master/servant attitude, it creates nothing but ill-will and does nothing to move our country forward.

While Tea Party members may have some valid concerns about where our country is headed, holding rallies where people carry derogatory signs about the President of the U.S. and listen to people like Sarah Palin denigrate him and others of the Democratic Party hardly seems like a viable solution.

Hopefully, the more enlightened members of the movement will eventually emerge and offer some concrete ideas on how to move our country in a more positive direction. If/when that happens, I look forward to hearing what they have to say.

Share Your Thoughts

