What Political Path Do You Follow?

I recently took “The World’s Smallest Political Quiz” to determine my political leanings.

There are five categories — Liberal, Conservative, Libertarian, Statist, and Centrist. The quiz determined I was a “Liberal” (no surprise to me). Not a ‘hard-core’ liberal, but definitely with liberal leanings.

What I found interesting were the descriptions of the various political groups, particularly the ones for Conversative and Liberal.

Here’s the Conservative description:

Conservatives tend to favor economic freedom, but frequently support laws to restrict personal behavior that violates “traditional values.” They oppose excessive government control of business, while endorsing government action to defend morality and the traditional family structure. Conservatives usually support a strong military, oppose bureaucracy and high taxes, favor a free-market economy, and endorse strong law enforcement.

And here’s the Liberal description:

Liberals usually embrace freedom of choice in personal matters, but tend to support significant government control of the economy. They generally support a government-funded “safety net” to help the disadvantaged, and advocate strict regulation of business. Liberals tend to favor environmental regulations, defend civil liberties and free expression, support government action to promote equality, and tolerate diverse lifestyles.

(Emphasis mine.)

Yes, I definitely lean towards being a Liberal because I don’t think it’s up to me to tell other people how to live and/or conduct their lives.  And I do feel that we should try and help others — I don’t believe in the rich getting richer and the poor getting poorer.

I do not think war is the answer to every global crisis; however, I do agree with the Conservatives that we need to have a strong military (for the same reason I think it’s good to know how to protect yourself). But I don’t think jumping into the fray with guns blazing is always the path to take.

Of course I oppose high taxes, but I’m realistic enough to know that if we’re going to have government-run services, someone has to pay for them. I just wish the government watched their budget as close as I have to watch mine.

So what did the test tell you about yourself?

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

