Ardi and Adam

Scientists recently announced the discovery of the oldest fossil skeleton of a human ancestor and dated the remains around 4.2 million years ago. They determined the skeleton was a female and nicknamed her “Ardi.”

As I watched the documentary on the Discovery channel, I couldn’t help but wonder about something.

If the creation story in the bible is true and God created Adam, the first human, what did that human look like?

Did he resemble Ardi?

Oh wait! Of course not. I forgot. The world is only 6,000 years old, +/- a few years. So any fossil remains that are scientifically dated earlier than that must be wrong.

This whole Ardi thing is probably a hyped up theory of some atheistic scientist. Right?

Hmmmmm.

4 thoughts on “Ardi and Adam

  1. i would have like to have seen that documentary but I ‘ve read before that human civilization is 6,000 yrs old. Not humanity itself . I do see your points about the hype scientist can create .. more so the media lol.

    Like

    • I have read there are signs of human civilization earlier than 6,000 years ago, but I think you missed the point of my posting.

      Bible believers give credit to God for creating Adam, the first human. If this is true, did that first human resemble Ardi? I daresay most bible believers would be aghast to think Ardi is representative of our early ancestors.

      Then I (sarcastically) commented that because some people choose to believe the world is only 6,000 years old, the scientists are ‘obviously’ wrong about Ardi.

      Personally, I choose to believe the scientists. They have hard evidence whereas the bible story is just that: a story.

      Like

  2. thanks For clearing that up .. I believe what scientist say as well .. But I do think there is some type missing link there … found in the bible ? Definitely not.. It’s been tampered to many times .. The only part of it that does have historical truth is the old testament in that of the nomadic tribes that existed around Mesopotamia and Sumer . They can be accredited to a lot of the spread of polytheistic traditions .. Hey do you remember the name of that documentary ? I d love to check it out . maybe i could find it on the net .. I have this thing for studying religion and biological anthropology .. Contradicting but its interesting to compare .

    Like

    • The documentary is called “Discovering Ardi.” It will probably be shown again, but there are several videos at http://dsc.discovery.com/videos/ardipithecus/.

      Considering your subjects of study, you may be interested in a book I’m writing. It’s a controversial look at the bible and Christianity and how Israel’s history after the Babylonian captivity played a big role in what Christians believe today. It’s a long ways from being finished (another year?) but you can be assured I’ll post something on this blog when it’s available. 😉

      Like

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

