McCain and Palin in the White House? Please God, No!

You know, it downright scares me when I think of McCain and Palin in the White House.

In past years, I never paid much attention to the presidential elections. My choice of candidates was generally based on party affiliation and I spent little to no time examining their specific views on how they wanted to run the country.

However, after 8 years of suffering through the Bush administration and having to swallow down his propensity for making decisions based on his evangelical Christian views, plus his inane decisions related to the Iraq war, I realized it was time for me to change my ways and make an informed decision about who I wanted in the role of President of the United States.

During the primaries, I actually leaned towards Ron Paul. Talk about a maverick! I’m not sure any of his ideas would have worked, but he definitely would have shaken things up.

When the choice finally came down to McCain or Obama, I knew almost immediately I wanted Obama to be the next President. Even before I heard him elaborate on his policies, I wanted what he offered … CHANGE!

Now that we’re getting closer and closer to Election Day, I’m comforted to hear that Obama has a lead in the polls. But there are no guarantees. Anything can happen. And that’s what scares me.

Not only do I disagree with McCain’s position on the issues (particularly his views on national security), but knowing that his running mate, Sarah Palin, is a heartbeat away from stepping in as the leader of this country actually makes me sick to my stomach.

Sometimes I wonder if I wasn’t better off just voting along party lines and drifting along in the bliss of ignorance. Hmmmm.

Take Some Time To Share Your Thoughts!

