Repost: “Season’s Greetings”

I originally wrote this post in 2011 (back when I had no more than one or two visitors 🙂 ). Since I feel the message is just as true today as it was six years ago, I decided to repost it … with a few minor additions/alterations.


After spending over 15 years within the confining walls of Christianity, one day I ventured outside … and found the weather delightful. Unfortunately, certain individuals (well-meaning as they may be) are trying to drag me back inside — especially during this yuletide season.

To Christians, the last month of the year signifies only one thing: the birth of Christ. Facts be told, the date of Jesus’ birth is unknown. Scholars who have studied Jewish history believe it was more likely in the springtime, but this matters little to the faithful. For them, it’s not about facts or history. It’s about tradition. And it’s often about ostracizing those who refuse to go along with tradition, including using a holiday greeting other than “Merry Christmas.”

Insert: A rather interesting take on the Merry Christmas greeting can be found here. While I definitely don’t agree with everything that’s written, the writer does offer some food for thought.

There is no disputing that Christianity is the dominant religion in the U.S. However, to use this majority position to try and force others to conform to Christian practices is simply wrong. Included in the makeup of this country are Jews, Muslims, Buddhists, Hindus, not to mention smaller religions such as Ba’hai, Deism, Jainism, and others. There are also a growing number of atheists.

Many of these non-Christians, including myself, prefer to use the term “Happy Holidays” because it is more religiously neutral. Moreover, since this time of the year includes another holiday (New Year’s Day), the greeting becomes more inclusive.

Insert: On many occasions, I just say “Have a nice holiday.”

Not too long back, I came across a poem written by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow (1865) entitled, “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Eve.” I was particularly drawn to the third stanza:

And in despair I bowed my head
“There is no peace on earth,” I said,
“For hate is strong and mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good will to men.”

Yes, sometimes “the hate is strong” — and hardly a testimony to the significance of this time of year among those who believe. To allow hatred or enmity to take the place of good will to men during this (or any other) time of the year is, well, not very Christian-like.


HAPPY HOLIDAYS to all my readers and followers!

18 thoughts on “Repost: “Season’s Greetings”

  1. And the same to you, of course.

    PS If you are going to continue to repost … in the sentence in the third para (“There is no disputing that Christianity is the dominate religion in the U.S.”) I think you mean dominant.

    My season’s gift to you … an act of proofreading. Finally, a useful proof of the existence of god!

    Like

  2. Happy holidays to you as well, Nan. I don’t care what anyone says to me – it all means “I wish you well!” I’ll be raising a glass soon (our suppertime ritual over the holidays), especially since I finished my last gift this afternoon. (I’ve been known to be sewing until the wee hours on Christmas morning!) 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “To allow hatred or enmity to take the place of good will to men… is, well, not very Christian-like.”

    I think we would do well to quit using “Christian” as a synonym for “nice people” or “good actions”. It was their propaganda that got us to do it in the first place, and now it serves to keep everyone thinking that the default Christian state is “awesome”.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Though I am a follower of Jesus Christ, sometimes I cringe at the word “Christian” because it doesn’t necessarily reflect what my faith means to me. Certain church traditions make me cringe, and I can certainly see how you would find them too confining. To me, it’s the God relationship that matters, not man-made traditions. “That your faith should not stand in the wisdom of man but in the power of God” as it says in I Corinthians 2:5. Like you said, to force people to observe Christian practices is simply wrong.

    To reword the ending of the famous “Twas the night before Christmas” poem, “Freedom of speech to all, and to all a good night.”

    Like

    • Hi CR! I like your perspective! It would be nice if more Jesus-followers were as open-minded as you.

      While I personally don’t agree (at all) with the Christian way of life, I do try to be tolerant since I’ve “been there, done that” and I know how difficult it is to accept a non-believer’s point of view.

      In any case, thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. I invite you to read some of my other blog posts and offer your insights on them as well.

      Like

Don't Be Shy -- Tell Us What You Think!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.